New Music Roundup 7/8/17

 

Happy Saturday! This week was pretty long and stressful. I’m so happy I conquered this week and all of its challenges. Maybe your week had challenges as well, so let’s celebrate the weekend with some music!

Here are 7 new tracks that I’m currently enjoying:

1. Lorde-“Perfect Places”

I recently reviewed Lorde’s new album Melodrama, and “Perfect Places” was one of the standouts. Its explosive chorus and honest lyrics have been playing in my head on repeat.

2. Paramore-Drake “Passionfruit” Cover

 

This cover manages to incorporate two things I love: Paramore and Drake’s song “Passionfruit,”which made my round up a couple of months ago. Whenever artist make the rounds and go to the bbc live lounge, I always get pretty excited because they always perform a cover. I would have never expected Paramore to cover a Drake song, but then again their sound has evolved quite a bit. I was so pleased by this unlikely cover.

3. Bryson Tiller- “Sorry Not Sorry”

Sometimes I love really biting lyrics that cut deep and aren’t even remotely nice. I think songs that have these types of lyrics are really honest. Such is the case with Tiller’s “Sorry Not Sorry.” The greatness doesn’t stop with his words though-the beat is also pretty sick. I know this song is a year old, but it’s new to me, so that’s why it’s on this list.

4. Childish Gambino-“Redbone”

I remember hearing “3005” a couple years ago, and it was a song that I enjoyed listening to. When I first heard “Redbone,” I never would have thought that the artist performing it was the same man behind “3005”-Childish Gambino. “Redbone” is a smooth jam, with raspy vocals and a throwback feel. I love jamming out to this track on car rides or when I’m just chilling.

5. Lorde-“Supercut”

Another track from Lorde’s Melodrama has made this list. “Supercut” is such a bop. The production is so full and polished. Lorde’s vocals are emotive, and the lyrics are-you guessed it-honest. I think Lorde is great for pop music. “Supercut” has all the makings of a great pop song, but it is so much smarter than most pop we hear today. It somehow manages to make you want to dance but also cry. Keep doing what you’re doing Lorde.

6. Coldplay- ” A L I E N S”

It’s funny because Coldplay are my favorite band, and probably artist, but they have never made my new music roundup up until this point. This is probably because they haven’t released new music since I started this series. “Aliens” is a brilliant track, not only sonically, but thematically. The music is urgent, spacy electronic sounds are weaved throughout, and Coldplay even get a little experimental with the phrasing and vocal delivery. One of the reasons I love Coldplay so much is because they are so worldy. “Aliens” outlines the story of aliens fleeing their home planet and then wanting to return home. It seems pretty simple but it’s actually a metaphor for the ongoing refugee crisis-like the aliens Coldplay describes, refugees have been forced out of their mother countries. Not only is aliens socially conscious, but it’s also pleasing to the ear. Brian Eno co-wrote and co-produced the track. He was one of the architects behind Coldplay’s acclaimed album Viva La Vida.  I hope he works with Coldplay more in the future. This song is evidence that Eno and Coldplay truly bring out the best in each other.

7. Paramore-“Forgiveness”

The last track on this round up is “Forgiveness” by Paramore. “Forgiveness” is featured on their new album After Laughter. I was initially lukewarm to this track, but I’ve been listening to After Laughter a lot lately, and it has really grown on me. The track is a heartbreaker-but it’s honest( if you couldn’t tell already, I like my music honest). Due to the new developments going on within the band, the song also has so much more context than it had before. Hayley Williams’s vocals shine, the guitars are sensitive, and the backing vocals add a fullness and vulnerability that I didn’t detect until now. It also gives off major 80s vibes, which is always a good thing. This song has been, and probably will remain,on repeat for a long time.

 

That’s it for this round up! Have a good weekend!

Couturely Sound ❤️

Leave a Reply

